Filling Jars with Honey

My first crop of honey for this season was put into 12oz (340g) jars today.

This honey was more suited to being processed as Soft Set Honey because it had a fine grain and took less than 3 weeks to solidify.

This bucket of honey set quickly; I skimmed off the bubbles before it solidified.

The solid bucket of honey was then warmed and softened by bringing its temperature up to 35-40 degrees C and then ‘mashed’ with a large potato masher.

I have invested in a filling/weighing machine this year. I am sharing it with another beekeeping pal – and therefore paid 50% of the cost 🙂

It not only has a time-saving benefit but it provides an exact weight. The machine has a maximum error of 2g but during its first use there was no deviation. It is very easily cleaned.

I was skeptical on how it would work with soft-set honey as opposed to clear runny honey but my doubts were unfounded.

The filled jars will now sit for a couple of days, have labels applied, and be ready for distribution. Happy Days.

Leave a comment